Tags

, , , , , ,

Horsefeathers, Redux - This Time, It's Alpakka

I’ve been invited to teach a class at the LYS using my Horsefeathers Cowl pattern. (It’s slightly modified to meet the shop owner’s request that it use just one ball of sport-weight yarn – I only had to remove one repeat of one chart from each side of the cowl!) Aside from the lace modification, I also had to make some blocking modifications. When I made the original from Elsebeth Lavold Silky Wool, the finished cowl was able to be gently tugged into shape. It dried crisply and with absolutely no need for pinning. This version of the cowl was made in Dale of Norway’s Royal Alpakka, a sport-weight 100% alpaca yarn. I wet-blocked it and tugged it into shape, just like I normally block items… and discovered that wasn’t going to cut it with this cowl. The alpaca is lovely, the shape is pretty good… but that horseshoe lace in the middle gets lost and looks pretty dumpy if you don’t pin it out. So I wet-blocked it again, laid it out on my blocking boards, and pinned out the ripples and horseshoe lace. Much nicer result the second time around!

If you’re interested in taking the class, check with Pinchknitter Yarns in Stanwood, WA. I’ll be teaching a Monday session and a Saturday session; dates and fees will be posted shortly.

