Tags

, ,

So I interviewed for a teaching job in another state, didn’t get it, and was really kind of relieved because that meant that we didn’t have to a) do an interstate, 2-days-drive-one-way move this summer or b) uproot Kidlette and find her a new preschool for next year. I’m lucky enough to know a couple of the teachers and to have a couple of friends who have sent kids to this particular school, and I’m really glad it’s turning out to be a good fit for Kidlette and our family.

Fast forward to this week. Kidlette is attending a couple of weeks of “summer school” to get her acclimated to the new environment and some of her classmates, and she is loving it. As a goodwill gesture – and to give the teachers a break – I volunteered to bring snack to school today. Thought about it all weekend, turned ideas over in my head, went to sub at a friend’s Bunco game (my first time ever, and, hey! doubled my investment!), got home, changed into pajamas… and realized at about 10 PM that I hadn’t figured out snack.

Oops.

By that time, I was way too tired to really think seriously about it, went to bed, and decided I’d figure it all out in the morning. If nothing else, I had the stuff on hand to make a giant pitcher of smoothies for the class. (Smoothies work, right?)

I got up early, searching for inspiration, and found it in the bowl of fruit on the counter, the kitchen-paper-goods drawer, and the leftover homemade wheat bread from this weekend’s baking. I made preschool-friendly fruit-and-bread kebabs.

Sheer procrastination-fueled brilliance, and the preschoolers loved them. Here’s the recipe if you’re so inclined:

Ingredients to make about 12 skewers as shown: 

  • 2 bananas, half a pound of strawberries, 2 Golden Delicious apples, and about 1/3 of  1 good-sized pineapple
  • dense whole-wheat bread – I used up about 1/3 of a 9″x5″ loaf that I made last Friday, cut into cubes
  • honey
  • drinking straws

Preparation:

  1. Peel/de-green/do whatever you need to in order to prep the fruit for kebab-sized, skewering-appropriate chunks. (In my version, I sliced bananas, quartered strawberries, did my weird apple-slicing routine and peeled them because not every preschooler is a fruit-au-naturel child, and took full advantage of the fact that Engineer is willing to skin and dress a real pineapple, and had done so on Sunday afternoon.)
  2. Once you get the bread cut into appropriate cubes – and, if it’s not too late, I’m serious about it being dense, as anything light and fluffy will probably not lend itself well to the soaking-and-skewering process – lay it out on a plate and drizzle honey all over it. Not too much, just enough to make the bread slightly moist.
  3. Take an actual kebab skewer (or other appropriate implement) and pre-punch holes in the apples or other difficult-to-skewer-on-the-first-go fruit.
  4. Skewer the fruit pieces and bread on the drinking straws in whatever order pleases you. (This does mean that there will be a little layer cake of your fruit and bread pieces in the straw. I personally don’t care, but some people might – so there’s the disclaimer.)
  5. As it so happens, the straws fit perfectly in a typical 9″x12″ baking pan if placed parallel to the short side.

There ya go. Safe, healthy, snacks for the preschool class in your life. Or any other group that you don’t really trust with sharp, pointy skewers.

