Tags

, , , ,

Whew! I was able to get my daughter down for a nap yesterday that lasted juuuust long enough for me to finish the first of my Down the Rabbit-Hole socks. The pattern is by Kimberly Pieper (Ravelry name: Purrlescent), and it is fantastic.

Down the Rabbit Hole Sock #1

My pattern notes:

  • I think this pattern works up best in a semi-solid and/or VAGUELY self-striping yarn. The photos in the pattern show it in a high-contrast self-striping colorway from GothSocks, and I think the traveling stitch pattern is lost with the stripey yarn. But then, I try not to work anything more complicated than ribbing in self-striping yarn because the point of the yarn is to show off the stripeys.
  • Although the pattern calls for DPNs, I heard several of my sock club/KAL cohorts complaining that it was very difficult to do the traveling stitches on DPNs. The 9″ circulars are a great option for this sock. I tried them, was immediately hooked, and will likely never knit socks on DPNs ever again.
  • Great pattern to use if you want to try your hand at learning to cable without a needle. I was incredibly intimidated by that at first, but after I learned that the “trick” is just to keep a very firm hold on the stitches as you pull the needle out to rearrange the stitches, it was easy to do.
